This afternoon saw the prologue of the Morocco Rally, the final event whose points count towards the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship, held in the surroundings of Fez. The Monster Energy Honda Team riders will occupy well-placed start positions for tomorrow’s first full stage.

The Morocco Rally is off and running after the dispute of a short curtain-raising prologue which dictated the starting positions for the first stage of the race.

The best riders from the Monster Energy Honda Team proved to be American Ricky Brabec and Argentine Kevin Benavides, who set the fourth fastest time (09’02”) over the ten-kilometre special stage. In seventh place was Portuguese rider Paulo Gonçalves, twenty-one seconds off the best time and Chilean José Ignacio Cornejo who chose a different tactical approach and finished twentieth, 1’21” behind the eventual winner.

Finally, after the election of the starting order, Paulo Gonçalves will start in ninth position, Ricky Brabec in 11th and Kevin Benavides in 12th. The order of José Ignacio Cornejo does not change, 20º.

The first stage, between Fez and Erfoud, will feature two special stages. After a first link of 130.14 kilometres, the first timed section of 74.20 km will be disputed. Another link of 190.48 will take the competitors to a second timed special of 68.48 kilometres that will lead them close to the bivouac located on the outskirts of Erfoud, at the edge of the Erg Chebbi, where the action will take place over the following days.

Kevin Benavides 2


It was a good beginning with the prologue, relaxed and without taking too many risks. I was comfortable and it was not bad. I think I’m in a good position to choose tomorrow's start order.

Paulo Goncalves 4


We have started the final race of the world championship. I felt strong in this 10-kilometre prologue, but after a while I realized that the brakes were going so I had to lighten up a bit. Maybe I lost a few seconds, but tomorrow the real race starts, and I will try to do it as well as possible, without errors and hopefully with a good pace.

Ricky Brabec 11


The rally has started. Today was the first official day as we only had the prologue. It's important to have a good ride for your starting position. Today was a bit slippery but I'm happy to make it through the day without any mistakes and tomorrow we are in a good position for the first official stage.

Private: José Ignacio “Nacho” Cornejo 15


The prologue was a short special stage, on hard terrain where I skidded about a lot. I did not want to take any risks to be able to have a more relaxed starting position for tomorrow. I felt comfortable on the bike. We are all set for the five days of racing that lie ahead.

2018 Cross-Country Rallies
Prologue Round FIM-5   Morocco

Prologue results

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Price Toby AUS Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM 8'47
2 Walkner Matthias AUT Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM +10"
3 Sunderland Sam GBR Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM +13"
4 Brabec Ricky 11 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +15"
5 Benavides Kevin 2 ARG Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +15"
6 Van Beveren Adrien FRA Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team Yamaha +19"
7 Goncalves Paulo 4 POR Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +21"
8 Quintanilla Pablo CHI Husqvarna Factory Rally Team Husqvarna +24"
9 Santolino Lorenzo SPA Sherco TVS Rally Factory Sherco +25"
10 Benavides Luciano ARG KTM Factory Racing Team KTM +26"
11 de Soultrait Xavier FRA Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team Yamaha +28"
12 Svitko Stefan 142 SLO Slovnaft Rally Team KTM +34"
13 Patrao Mario 33 POR Credit Agricola - Mario Patrao Motorsport KTM +34"
14 Caimi Franco ARG Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team Yamaha +36"
15 Metge Adrien 11 FRA Sherco TVS Rally Factory Sherco +40"
20 Cornejo José Ignacio "Nacho" 15 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda +1'21"

Rallye du Maroc 2018 Prologue

Rallye du Maroc 2018 Prologue

Location Information

Morocco has always been a land of rally raid. The story began in 1982 with the arrival of Paris-Agadir, the first rally raid to run in Morocco. The following year, the rally took the name of ‘Atlas Rally’ and became the flagship rally to the Rally Raids calendar. The Atlas… read more.

Winner 2022 Skyler Howes (Husqvarna)
Winner 2021 Pablo Quintanilla (Honda)
Winner 2020 Cancelled due the COVID-19 Pandemic
Winner 2019 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2018 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2017 Matthias Walkner (KTM)
Winner 2016 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2015 Sam Sunderland (KTM)
Winner 2014 Marc Coma (KTM)
Winner 2013 Paulo Gonçalves (Honda)
Winner 2012 Cyril Despres (KTM)

Agadir, Morocco - View in Google Maps