Heading to the south desert close to Laayoune, the third day of Rallye Du Maroc brought great news for Monster Energy Honda Team with the first stage win for Adrien Van Beveren. Ricky Brabec was third, José Ignacio Cornejo 5th and Pablo Quintanilla – struggling with some pain – finished in 10th place.

The wide desert landscapes from the south of Morocco has finally arrived! In the third day of Rallye Du Maroc the convoy left Tan Tan in the direction of Laayoune. Riders had to face a total of 437 kilometres  122 km in laiason followed by 315 kilometres of special stage in this second stage. It was time to embrace the great plateaus, with rocky tracks and much longer dune sections – the famous ergs. Bivouac has been set up in middle of the oued and the temperatures raised to 37ºC!

Adrien Van Beveren was the winner of today’s stage, signing the first success of his career with Monster Energy Honda Team. 2020 Dakar winner Ricky Brabec was third, José Ignacio Cornejo 7th and Pablo Quintanilla – who struggled with pain due to yesterdays crash – was 10th.

Tomorrow’s stage of Rallye Du Maroc consists on a circuit with departure and arrival in Laayoune. There will be a total 323 kilometres  to cover, 23 km in laiason followed by 299 kilometres of special stage. More sand and dunes are already in the riders minds!

Adrien Van Beveren

“It’s a great feeling to win a stage and this comes when I am just starting my collaboration with Honda – this is my first race with the team. I had a great day and I was able to navigate the best possible way. That was where I made the difference. This is very good news not only for me – sure it counts to my motivation - but also for the all team. ”

Ricky Brabec 9

“Today I felt pretty strong, but at the begging I lost some time. I was off piste and I couldn’t find a way point control, so I guess I lost here around six minutes. Then my team mate Adrien Van Beveren arrived and we continue together. In the end it was not a bad stage. I have a delay of around 4 minutes and tomorrow everything can change. I believe we are still on contention for a podium position. ”

Private: José Ignacio “Nacho” Cornejo 11

“Today I felt much better than yesterday. I was quite comfortable in the bike and that made the difference. I have made a little mistake in the navigation when I was off piste in the bush, so I lost some minutes. In one word I can say I had a solid day. ”

Pablo Quintanilla 7

“This was a tough stage for me, because I was struggling with a lot of pain in my shoulder due to yesterday’s crash. I did my best to keep the focus on the riding but it was not an easy job, specially in the off piste sections. Now priority is keep doing a good race for the team trying to avoid mistakes. I am happy to be here in Morocco! ”

2022 Season
Stage Round WORLD4   Morocco

Provisional Result Stage 2 Tan Tan - Laayoune

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Van Beveren Adrien FRA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 03h18m44s
2 Benavides Kevin 1 ARG Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM 03h21m38s
3 Brabec Ricky 9 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 03h21m45s
4 Howes Skyler 10 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 03h21m56s
5 Price Toby 18 AUS Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM 03h24m49s
6 Sunderland Sam 3 GBR Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas 03h24m50s
7 Cornejo José Ignacio "Nacho" 11 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 03h24m57s
8 Caimi Franco 6 ARG Hero Motorsports Team Rally Hero 03h27m40s
9 Benavides Luciano 77 ARG Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna 03h27m57s
10 Quintanilla Pablo 7 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 03h28m33s
Location Information

Morocco has always been a land of rally raid. The story began in 1982 with the arrival of Paris-Agadir, the first rally raid to run in Morocco. The following year, the rally took the name of ‘Atlas Rally’ and became the flagship rally to the Rally Raids calendar. The Atlas… read more.

Winner 2022 Skyler Howes (Husqvarna)
Winner 2021 Pablo Quintanilla (Honda)
Winner 2020 Cancelled due the COVID-19 Pandemic
Winner 2019 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2018 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2017 Matthias Walkner (KTM)
Winner 2016 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2015 Sam Sunderland (KTM)
Winner 2014 Marc Coma (KTM)
Winner 2013 Paulo Gonçalves (Honda)
Winner 2012 Cyril Despres (KTM)

Agadir, Morocco - View in Google Maps