After the warm-up from yesterday, Rallye Du Maroc went south for a 316 kilometres special stage (SS1B) connecting Agadir to the desert landscapes of Tan Tan. Monster Energy Honda Team 2020 Dakar winner Ricky Brabec was the best of the squad ending in seventh place.

Second day of Rallye Du Maroc 2022 was an early bird call for the riders from Monster Energy Honda Team. Ricky Brabec was the fourth to leave from Agadir and finished the day in 6th. Until reaching the next bivouac placed at the camel’s market in Tan Tan riders had to cover a total of 562 kilometres heading south – 240 Km of liaison and 316 Km of special stage (SS1B).  José Ignacio Cornejo was 8th, Adrien Van Beveren ended the day in 10th place and Pablo Quintanilla – who had a crash but remains on competition – was 14th.

With the desert on the horizon, the road book delivered a great variety of pistes, starting with hard and rocky mountain and passing a beach section where all power could be released. Sand and navigation were some of the strong ingredients of this exotic menu.

Tomorrow it’s time to go to the extreme south of this year’s Rallye Du Maroc itinerary, having the capital of the south Moroccan desert as the next destination: Laayoune. There will be a total 437 kilometres  to cover, 122 km in liaison followed by 315 kilometres of special stage. The hard and rocky tracks from the desert will continue to test the limits of our riders and bikes, not forgetting the magical sand dunes.

Ricky Brabec 9

“The day was quite long, we had to wake-up at 3 am, so I am pretty sure this was certainly one of the hardest days of the rally. I mean this for the body, mind and bike…but I am happy to be here at Tan Tan. I have done a good job along the way and we are in a good position for tomorrow. So let’s have some fun!”

Pablo Quintanilla 7

“There was a difficult navigation in the morning with many rocks, then we went close to the ocean in the beach and could speed up. Then we moved to off piste in a mix between rocks and sand in the dunes. Suddenly I saw a clean line in the bush and next when I realize I was flying over the handlebar. I hurt my shoulder and it was really painful to reach the end. I will be seen by the doctor and hope to be able to start tomorrow.”

Private: José Ignacio “Nacho” Cornejo 11

“This was not a bad day. Did not worked out as I wanted, but I knew I was loosing some time by riding a little bit more careful. I am sure we will be able to recover in the next four days, knowing that the hard tracks with rocks and sand will be a great preparation for the Dakar 2023.”

Adrien Van Beveren

“This is my first race with Honda and things are going well, this is an intense learning process and I am having all the support from the team. The kind of terrain we got today was not the one I most enjoy, so in a way I was riding a little bit defensive. The exception was the section along the ocean, with hard sand allowing us to ride full gas and this was a great change to relax.”

2022 Season
Stage Round WORLD4   Morocco

Result of Selective Section 1 (1a+1b) Agadir - Tan Tan

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Evan Branch Ross 16 BWA Hero Motorsports Team Rally Hero 04h46m24s
2 Benavides Luciano 77 ARG Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna 04h48m29s
3 Price Toby 18 AUS Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM 04h49m35s
4 Howes Skyler 10 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 04h50m48s
5 Klein Mason 43 USA BAS World KTM Racing Team KTM 04h53m59s
6 Sunderland Sam 3 GBR Gas Gas Factory Team Gas Gas 04h55m05s
7 Brabec Ricky 9 USA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 04h55m21s
8 Van Beveren Adrien FRA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 04h57m59s
9 Caimi Franco 6 ARG Hero Motorsports Team Rally Hero 04h59m16s
10 Cornejo José Ignacio "Nacho" 11 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 05h00m29s
13 Quintanilla Pablo 7 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 05h07m46s
Location Information

Morocco has always been a land of rally raid. The story began in 1982 with the arrival of Paris-Agadir, the first rally raid to run in Morocco. The following year, the rally took the name of ‘Atlas Rally’ and became the flagship rally to the Rally Raids calendar. The Atlas… read more.

Winner 2022 Skyler Howes (Husqvarna)
Winner 2021 Pablo Quintanilla (Honda)
Winner 2020 Cancelled due the COVID-19 Pandemic
Winner 2019 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2018 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2017 Matthias Walkner (KTM)
Winner 2016 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2015 Sam Sunderland (KTM)
Winner 2014 Marc Coma (KTM)
Winner 2013 Paulo Gonçalves (Honda)
Winner 2012 Cyril Despres (KTM)

Agadir, Morocco - View in Google Maps