There are only two more days to go at the Rallye du Maroc, the last stop of the World Rally-Raid Championship. Monster Energy Honda Team riders have been every day at the podium, first was Pablo Quintanilla and then José Ignacio Cornejo. Today Nacho did it again, he was the third fastest in the 336 km of Special Stage around the south region of Zagora.

Today’s stage was dominated by Spaniard Toscha Schareina, who is also riding an Honda CRF 450 Rally. Nacho was third, Quintanilla fourth and Van Beveren finished the day in 8th place.

In the overall standings, Pablo Quintanilla is ranked third with a six minutes and nine seconds gap to the leader. After his very positive performance in the last two stages, Nacho Cornejo has moved to 6th position. One of the contenders for world title,
Adrien Van Beveren is now in 8th place.

Tomorrow the bivouac from the Rallye du Maroc will move to the famous dunes of Merzouga. Stage 4, the penultimate of the program, will consist of a 75 km liaison and a 343 km Special Stage. The menu will consist of dirt tracks, gravel tracks, sand and – in the end – dunes.

Ruben Faria

General Manager

We have reached the middle of Rallye du Maroc with another fair day for our team. Nacho Cornejo did a great stage and finished third, while Pablo Quintanilla came just behind him in 4th and Adrien in 8th. This was another hard stage with a lot of stones and our riders were there in the front. Now Pablo is third in the overall standings, Nacho recovered a lot and is 6th and Adrien is in 8th position. Tomorrow it’s time for the most difficult stage and we will give our best. We are also defending our title as Manufacturers World Champions and in this matter we are doing well.

Private: José Ignacio “Nacho” Cornejo 11

This was another good stage for me. I was riding in the bonus places and tried to use this advantage the best I could. I felt quite comfortable and very safe riding my Honda CRF 450 Rally. So far this is my best performance at the Rallye du Maroc and I feel very happy about it. All stages here are very fast and this matches a lot my style and profile.

Pablo Quintanilla 7

This was really a fast stage, riding all the time in piste. I felt quite good, I was riding with a good pace trying to avoid any road-book mistakes. I did a clean navigation, the route was more in line today with fewer changes of direction. That was really fast all the time, so I am happy for being here and for the great preparation for the Dakar Rally.

Adrien Van Beveren 42

I felt much better today, but I know I am not riding yet at my best level. We are working hard with the team to improve my performance on a daily basis and it feels great to count on such a professional group of people behind me.

2023 World Rally Raid Championship
Stage Round WORLD5   Morocco

Provisional Standings after Stage 3

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Price Toby 18 AUS Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team KTM 10:25:02
2 Evan Branch Ross 16 BWA Hero Motorsports Team Rally Hero 10:29:48
3 Quintanilla Pablo 7 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 10:32:09
4 Benavides Luciano 77 ARG Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna 10:33:50
5 Schareina Tosha 68 SPA Honda Team Honda 10:33:54
6 Cornejo José Ignacio "Nacho" 11 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 10:36:51
7 Santolino Lorenzo 15 SPA Sherco TVS Rally Factory Sherco 10:40:20
8 Van Beveren Adrien 42 FRA Monster Energy Honda Team Honda 10:52:42
9 Bühler Sebastian 110 GER Bühler Racing Team KTM 11:27:41
10 Gonçalves Rui 19 POR Sherco TVS Rally Factory Sherco 11:40:25
Location Information

Morocco has always been a land of rally raid. The story began in 1982 with the arrival of Paris-Agadir, the first rally raid to run in Morocco. The following year, the rally took the name of ‘Atlas Rally’ and became the flagship rally to the Rally Raids calendar. The Atlas… read more.

Winner 2022 Skyler Howes (Husqvarna)
Winner 2021 Pablo Quintanilla (Honda)
Winner 2020 Cancelled due the COVID-19 Pandemic
Winner 2019 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2018 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2017 Matthias Walkner (KTM)
Winner 2016 Toby Price (KTM)
Winner 2015 Sam Sunderland (KTM)
Winner 2014 Marc Coma (KTM)
Winner 2013 Paulo Gonçalves (Honda)
Winner 2012 Cyril Despres (KTM)

Agadir, Morocco - View in Google Maps